Sun. Oct 25th, 2020

Amit Shah is Home Minister, S Jaishankar is Foreign Minister

Share this news

Amit Shah is Home Minister, S Jaishankar is Foreign Minister


New Delhi, May 31 (HS): Prime Minister Narendra Modi has picked his closest aide Amit Shah as Home Minister in the new government.


Rajnath Singh will be Defence Minister and Nitin Gadkari will be Minister of Road Transport and Highways. Nirmala Sitharaman will be Finance Minister and Minister of Corporate Affairs.


List of the portfolios in Modi’s cabinet:


Narendra Modi – Prime Minister and also in-charge of Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space; and all important policy issues; and all other portfolios not allocated to any Minister.


Cabinet Ministers:


Raj Nath Singh – Minister of Defence


Amit Shah – Minister of Home Affairs


Nitin Jairam Gadkari – Minister of Road Transport and Highways; and Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.


DV Sadananda Gowda – Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers


Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman – Minister of Finance; and Minister of Corporate Affairs


Ramvilas Paswan – Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution


Narendra Singh Tomar – Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare; Minister of Rural Development; and Minister of Panchayati Raj


Ravi Shankar Prasad – Minister of Law and Justice; Minister of Communications; and Minister of Electronics and Information Technology


Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal – Minister of Food Processing Industries


Thaawar Chand Gehlot – Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment


Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar – Minister of External Affairs


Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ – Minister of Human Resource Development


Arjun Munda – Minister of Tribal Affairs


Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani – Minister of Women and Child Development; and Minister of Textiles


Dr. Harsh Vardhan – Minister of Health and Family Welfare; Minister of Science and Technology; and Minister of Earth Sciences


Prakash Javadekar – Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; and Minister of Information and Broadcasting


Piyush Goyal – Minister of Railways; and Minister of Commerce and Industry


Dharmendra Pradhan – Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and Minister of Steel


Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi – Minister of Minority Affairs


Pralhad Joshi – Minister of Parliamentary Affairs; Minister of Coal; and Minister of Mines


Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey – Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.


List of ministers in Modi’s cabinet:


Cabinet Ministers: Narendra Modi, Raj Nath Singh, Amit Shah (first time), Nitin Jairam Gadkari, D. V. Sadananda Gowda, Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Ramvilas Paswan, Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Thaawar Chand Gehlot, Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ (first time), Arjun Munda, Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani, Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Pralhad Joshi (first time), Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey, Arvind Ganpat Sawant, Giriraj Singh, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat.


Ministers of State (Independent Charge): Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Rao Inderjit Singh, Shripad Yesso Naik, Dr. Jitendra Singh, Kiren Rijiju, Prahalad Singh Patel, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri, Mansukh L. Mandaviya.


Ministers of State: Faggansingh Kulaste, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Arjun Ram Meghwal, General (Retd.) V. K. Singh, Krishan Pal, Danve Raosaheb Dadarao, G. Kishan Reddy, Parshottam Rupala, Ramdas Athawale, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Babul Supriyo, Sanjeev Kumar Balyan, Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao, Anurag Singh Thakur, Angadi Suresh Channabasappa (first time), Nityanand Rai, Rattan Lal Kataria (first time), V. Muraleedharan, Smt. Renuka Singh Saruta, Som Parkash, Rameswar Teli (first time), Pratap Chandra Sarangi, Kailash Choudhary (first time), Deboshree Choudhury (first time).