Sat. Feb 27th, 2021

UP MLC poll : Ten BJP & two SP candidates elected unopposed

Share this news

Lucknow, 21 January (HS) :   All the 12 candidates were declared elected unopposed to the UP Legislative Coincil (MLC) here on Thursday. Among them ten candidates are of the ruling Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and two of the Samajwadi Party (SP).

The Returning Officer BB Dubey announced the unopposed election of all 12 nominees after the time of withdrawl of nominations was over today. An independent candidate Mahesh Chandra Sharma had also filed nominations in this election but his papers were rejected during the scrutiny on Tuesday.

 With the rejection of nomination of independent candidate Mahesh Chandra Sharma ten candidates of BJP and two of SP were all set to be elected unopposed, but it was officialy declared today after the time for withdrawl was over.

The elected candidates were given certificates too on the occasion, said the Returning Officer.

The elected MLCs of BJP included party’s state unit head Swatantra Dev Singh, Dy CM Dr Dinesh Sharma, former IAS officer of Gujarat cadre Arvind Kr Sharma, Luxmana Acharya, Govind Narayan Shukla, Kunwar Manvendra Singh, Salil Bishnoi, Ashwini Tyagi, Dr Dharmaveer Prajapati and Surendra Chaudhary while the two SP nominees are Ahmed Hasan and Rajendra Chaudhary.