Thu. Jan 28th, 2021

IPL 2020 to be held from September 19 to November 10

Share this news
New Delhi, August 3 (HS) The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will be held in the UAE from September 19 to November 10, at three venues- Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi. The Indian Premier League’s Governing Council on Sunday decided to retain all its sponsors, including Chinese mobile company VIVO, and approved COVID-19 substitutions in the event.
“The 53-day tournament will witness 10-afternoon matches starting at 15:30 IST while the evening matches will start at 19:30 IST,” stated a release from the BCCI. 
 The Governing Council also discussed the Comprehensive Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs), which will be finalized and published in due course, including executing and delivering a bio-safe environment for safe and successful operation of the IPL 2020 season. 
 The Governing Council also reviewed player regulations for the 2020 season for the replacement player. The women’s T20 matches will also take place in the UAE, consisting of three teams from four matches played during the IPL playoff week. A meeting with the franchise will be called shortly.