Wed. Jul 15th, 2020

Assam cabinet expanded, two new ministers sworn in, now 18 ministers in cabinet

Share this news

Guwahati,Jan 18(HS): The Assam government on Saturday included two new faces in the cabinet. Sanjay Kishan and Jogan Mohan were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Jagdish Mukhi in a simple ceremony in the court hall of Raj Bhavan. Both Mohan and Kishan were sworn in as ministers of state with independent charge.

Several dignitaries including Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Finance and Health Minister Hemant Vishwa Sharma, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Chandra Mohan Patwari, Culture Minister Nab Kumar Dolly, BJP President Ranjit Das and MPs Queen Oja and Kamakhya Prasad Tasa were present on the occasion.

The swearing-in ceremony was conducted by the Chief Secretary of the state, Kumar Sanjay Krishna. Both Kishan and Mohan are elected first-time MLAs. They represent the Tinsukia and Mahmora constituencies respectively.