Fri. Sep 17th, 2021

35 new Seismological Observatories will become operational by December 2021-Dr Jitendra Singh

Share this news

New Delhi, 23 July (H.S): union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Earth Sciences, Dr Jitendra Singh Friday said 35 new Seismological Observatories shall be commissioned and will start functioning by December 2021, as installation is already in progress. In a statement laid on the table of the Lok Sabha, he said, the strength of National Seismological Network (NSN) will increase to 150 by December 2021.

It is also planned to strengthen the National Seismological Network (NSN) further by adding 100 seismic stations in the next 5 years to increase the detection capability of earthquake up to M:2.5 throughout the country.

National Centre for Seismology under Ministry of Earth Sciences, is the nodal agency of the Center, for monitoring and to study earthquakes in and around the country. For this purpose, NCS maintains a National Seismological Network (NSN) consisting of 115 observatories spread across the country.

The network is capable of recording any event of M:2.5 and above in and around Delhi, M:3.0 and above for NE region, M:3.5 and above in Peninsular and extra-peninsular region, M:4.0 and above in Andaman region, and M:4.5 and above in border regions. In order to spatially densify the gap areas and to improve the magnitude detection threshold down to 3.0 in the country.